22 January 2024

Professor Pernille Bjørn Recognized as Distinguished Member of ACM


The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has named Professor Pernille Bjørn a Distinguished Member for her exceptional contributions to Global Software Development and Equity in Computing. This recognition highlights her position among the top 10% of ACM members, emphasizing her influence and leadership in the computing field.

Portrait of Professor Pernille Bjørn
Professor Pernille Bjørn investigates the basic nature of collaborative work with the aim of designing collaborative technologies. She joined the Department of Computer Science at the University of Copenhagen in 2015.

Professor Bjørn's recognition is part of the 2023 ACM Distinguished Members programme, which honors individuals for significant achievements that have advanced computing, spurred innovation, and enhanced computer science education. There are more than 100.000 ACM members world-wide, and this year, 52 became Distinguished Members. 

The Distinguished Members programme acknowledges both career accomplishments and active participation in ACM, and Professor Pernille Bjørn's selection reflects her outstanding work in understanding global software development, healthcare technologies, tech entrepreneurship, and promoting equity in computing. 

For Pernille Bjørn, it is an honor and a privilege to receive this important recognition for her contribution to research by the international research community. 

- I am very proud to be an ACM Distinguished Member and especially, I am humble to be named among excellent and world-leading researchers such as Amy Ko, Jofish Kaye, Shaun Kane, Lionel Robert, Eva Hornecker, Eric Gilbert, Daniel Vogel, Werner Geyer, and Lauren Wilcox, who I all admire, says Pernille Bjørn.  

Only one other Danish researcher was among the 52 new Distinguished Members, that is Professor Anders Møller from Aarhus University.  

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of the worldwide ACM membership based on professional experience and significant achievements in computing beyond the norm. 

To be nominated, a candidate must have at least 15 years of professional experience in the field and five years of Professional ACM Membership in the last 10 years, and must have achieved a significant level of accomplishment or made a significant impact in the field. Also, a Distinguished Member is expected to have served as a mentor and role model to younger professionals.   

Read the press release from ACM here. 


Pernille Bjørn
Department of Computer Science
University of Copenhagen


More stories